See this image larger
The aga in my kitchen.

See this image larger

See this image larger
Vision of my book jacket.

go to goodies page
The Artist's Wa...
go to goodies page
The Artist's Wa...
go to goodies page
Personal Chef

Interact with AGAWRITER
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a teacher in Houston, TX. I have a husband, two daughters (pictured after a skating competition) , and two dogs. In 1990, I had my first extended stay in Europe. I cam e back in 1991, got married, and moved back to Czechoslovakia (to become the Czech Republic). We lived there, and in Scotland, for the next 8 years. Despite the fact that these two countries have some of the most unhealthy diets in the world (in the Czech Republic, there was one day a week when lunch would be a huge plate of cake, with custard over it, no vegetables, and Scotland, home of the deep-fried Mars Bar-- not that I ever tried one), we didn't have a car, so I didn't gain that much weight. In 2000, I broke my leg, and my daughter was born, two weeks apart. Then we moved back to the U.S., to my mother's 1950 cars only neighborhood. I tried to keep up the walking lifestyle, but I didn't count on the constable stopping me, multiple times, to ask if he couldn't help me. (I guess woman walking alone at noon is suspicious here.) The breaking point was going to pick up some things at the dry cleaners during work, and getting in my car, and driving across the street and one block down. Since then, things have become more car-wedded, work much farther away, schedules to be juggled, etc. Until I am 35 pounds heavier than I was when I was married (the last time I know for sure), with an ankle that still flairs up, and a tendancy to get bronchititis. Now, it's time for balance.

Member Since: 3/6/2010

Fitness Minutes: 4,010

My Goals:
First goal, go back to work after cancer treatment.

Second, figure out how to reprioritize my life so it is more about me.

My Program:
Exercise more-- I just contacted a yoga instructor who specializes in breast cancer patients. ten weeks of private lessons. I am really excited-- I've never been flexible or had good balance, and would like to do both.

Eating better-- especially breakfast. I am a notorious breakfast skipper.

Rewards: Two weeks-- building a better wardrobe. Next step, a bathing suit to get ready for the summer.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
About the Aga: It is a British cooker, with 4 ovens, always on. They range from high heat to a warming oven, and includes one that is perfect for slow cooking. The top has a boiling plate and a simmering plate, both covered by insulated tops. It is the most wonderful thing to cook on ever. And we got it for pennies on the dollar, because a distrubutor wanted to change their demo space.

Read More About AGAWRITER - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 30)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 0.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (104):  123Next >Last >>