See this image larger
Another June 2007 picture - I'm heavier than this and not professionally made up normally.

See this image larger
Me and dad at our lowest weights with great aunt Jo whose weight kept her in the chair :(

See this image larger
Pretty close to what I normally look like now - taken in January of 2008.

go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
Red Ribbon
go to goodies page
Yoga Mat

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with ARGHLITA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

New and improved Gluten-Free Me in 2009.


Today I told a complete stranger that "Every step in the right direction begins with accepting where you are right now."

I realized that right now, I truly accept myself.

My lowest adult weight was 149.9 pounds and I was just out of Army training in 1999. I was still "overweight" by Army standards and I spent the rest of my enlistment being hassled and slowly regaining the weight I had lost in order to join. When I found out I was being discharged for overweight, I got a lecture on "letting myself go" because I gained 7 pounds over my honeymoon in 2002. Something inside me snapped and I clearly thought "I'll show them what 'letting myself go' really looks like." I went from 167 to 197 in less than 3 months. In another three, I was 20 pounds heavier. Then I began the process of dieting and intensive exercise regimes.

I had already tried "everything" to lose the last 13 pounds in the Army, now I tried it all again frantically and it still didn't work! I tried the Six Week Body Makeover and had to quit when I started having muscle spasms. They told me to eat more bananas! Well, I was already supplementing with potassium and the muscle cramps went away any day I ate over 1000 calories, so I decided that wasn't for me.

Next I trained for a marathon. I injured both feet by the half way point.

I got a new job at a call center and quickly put on 30 more pounds with the constant sugary snacks and early morning stops at Dunkin' Donuts for a "pick me up." This brings me to the day in 2005 where I stepped on the scale and saw 258 pounds.

I joined Weight Watchers and lost my first 10% for the first time ever because I had my tonsils out. Unfortunately, my work place didn't believe I needed more than a few days to recover (using the logic that a 24 year old with tonsils that had *been dead in her throat* should recover at the same rate as a healthy child) and my relationship with my upper level managers was strained. For the next 6 months, I maintained my loss but I quit my job.

I spent 2006 trying to get back on the wagon and trying plan after plan - mostly body building plans that were very intensive and precise. I spent hours in the gym and got really strong, but there was little movement either in clothing size or weight. I also joined a gym. I decided that I would just try every diet until I reached my goal weight. I went completely nutty. In October of 2006 I tried Jenny Craig. The food was fine and so was the plan, but my couselor didn't seem to give a damn about me.

In November of 2006, I vowed that I would *never* go on another diet.

So why am I here? Because this isn't a diet and I'm not dieting. Everyone says that, but until you step over to the other side you don't get what it means. If I'm hungry, really hungry, I'm going to eat something. I don't care what the nutrition tracker says.

Member Since: 12/19/2005

Fitness Minutes: 1,961

My Goals:
I want to look better than I did at 18. I was in the Army and got down to 150 but continued to fight my weight, going between 150 and 165 for several years - instead of getting to 137 like the Army thought I should. I have to say, 150 is sounding pretty good after a few years over 220 pounds. Even better after a few years over 250.

My Program:
Stopped eating wheat: Lent 2009

I have pursued orthopedic insoles and chiropractic adjustments to help me get rid of the pain associated with normal activity.

I'm following the advice of a chiropractor/nutritionist by cleansing my liver and taking supplements to help my digestion and assimilation.

Personal Information:
I'm originally from Chicago but now live in Northern Kentucky. I'm married, no kids, hold a graduate degree in psychology and I'm currently pursuing part-time employment and full time living.

Other Information:

Read More About ARGHLITA - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 26)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 251.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (84):  123Next >Last >>