See this image larger
This is Missy (the same kitty as my profile image, although not looking evil here!) She is only 6 months old, but longer than my other 2 cats already.

See this image larger
My beautiful daughter, Katelyn.

See this image larger
My cat, Oreo. She really needs the gym too, but they don't accept cats as members!

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving
go to goodies page
High Five

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with DAWNWS1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm a 39 year old married mom of a 15-year-old girl. My mom lives with us as well and we've all recently joined a gym (right across the street from our house, could it get more convenient??!!) We all want to lose weight and get in shape, but we want it to be a lifestyle change, not a "diet" (since we all know those are BAADDDDD things!).

As of April 16, 2010, I've made the decision to begin the process to become a NASM Certified Personal Trainer. It takes about 4 months start to finish, so I plan to begin my new career around the time my daughter goes back to school in the fall. I've been offered a job at the gym where I work out, and the 2 trainers there have already offered their help and support. I feel truly blessed and extremely excited about where this new curve in my life's road will take me!!!

Well, I passed my NASM personal trainer exam on July 1, 2010, exactly 1 year from the day I walked into the gym for the first time!! I start work on July 20th at that very same gym, and I'm sooooo excited to start helping people like me change their lives!
Chest: 42
Waist: 36 1/2
Hips: 45 3/4
Thighs: 23
Weight: 186
Resting heart rate: mid-80's

Chest: 40
Waist: 33
Hips: 41 1/2
Thighs: 20
Weight: 170
Resting heart rate: 66

Chest: 38 3/4
Waist: 32
Hips: 41
Thigh: 19 1/2
Arm (just recently started measuring): 11 3/4
Weight: 165
Resting heart rate: 66

Total inches lost to date: 20
Total pounds lost to date: 21 (WOO HOO!!!!!!)

Chest: 38
Waist: 31 1/4
Hips: 38 1/2
Thigh: 19
Arm: 11 1/4
Weight: 158
Body Fat %: 31.6%
Resting heart rate: 66

Total inches lost to date: 26
Total pounds lost to date: 28

Chest: 38
Waist: 31
Hips: 38 1/4
Thigh: 18 1/2
Arm: 11 1/4
Weight: 157
Body Fat %: 30.6%

Total inches lost to date: 27 1/2
Total pounds lost to date: 29

Chest: 37
Waist: 30
Hips: 37 3/4
Thigh: 18
Arm: 11
Weight: 153.6
Body Fat %: 29.4%
Resting heart rate: 54

Total inches lost to date: 31
Total pounds lost to date: 33

Chest: 37
Waist: 29 1/2
Hips: 37 1/2
Arm: 11
Weight: 150.8
Body fat %: 26%

Total inches lost to date: 31 3/4
Total pounds lost to date: 35
Body fat lost: Approximately 18% (43 lbs of ugly fat GONE!)


Member Since: 9/7/2009

Fitness Minutes: 11,572

My Goals:
I'm looking to get healthy and stay that way! I've never really been a yo-yo dieter, mostly my weight has just gone up! LOL So, this time, my goal is to get back to about the weight I was when I got married almost 18 years ago and stay there! I've also got borderline high blood pressure and cholesterol and would very much like to be able to get them back to normal without meds. In the process, I'm hoping to motivate my daughter to achieve a healthy weight and lifestyle as well.

My Program:
I am going to the gym 6 times a week. For now, three 30-minute cardio sessions per week, and three strength training sessions per week (one of which is overseen by a personal trainer).

Update (11/03/09):
Cardio sessions are up to 5 times a week for 60 minutes- 3 of these on the elliptical/bike/treadmill and 2 of these a dance class. In addition, still 3 sessions a week of strength/core training for 60 minutes each (once per week with personal trainer).

Update (12/07/09):

Cardio sessions have been cut to 4 times a week, although 60-90 minutes at a time, with 3 additional strength training sessions of 60 minutes each overseen by a personal trainer. She is concerned about overtraining, which is why cardio has been cut back for the time being.

Update (04/17/10):

Starting the week of 04/26, I will be doing 3 cardio sessions a week (3 60-minute dance classes) and 4 strength training sessions a week (2 days upper body/2 days lower body).

Personal Information:
I live with my hubby of 18 years, my 15-year-old daughter, my mom, 3 cats, 1 dog and a guinea pig in a big, beautiful house we were blessed to be able to purchase in October, 2008.

Other Information:
"When I dare to be powerful- to use my strength in the service of my vision- then it becomes less and less important whether or not I am afraid."

-Audre Lorde

Read More About DAWNWS1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 150.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (386):  123Next >Last >>