See this image larger
Me at about 156 lbs. I want to get back here and beyond!

See this image larger
Me at 160 lbs just before gaining 20 lbs in a ravenous food massacre that lasted for 3 months!

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Gym Membership
go to goodies page
Miss You
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with FOOFIT1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I love, love, LOVE to workout. My main problem has always been love, love, loving to eat. I joined SparkPeople with the intention of getting my eating under control. So far, it's been an incredibly helpful tool. I never realized how much I needed support to help me to stay motivated!

I NEED to know others out there struggle just like I do.
I NEED to know others out there succeed despite that.
I NEED to see that those out there who succeed are just like everyone else. They aren't super human, just people like you and me who needed a little help and support to get healthy.

So far, SP has been wonderful for that, and I expect to continue on to goal!! My program for now is to eat between 1650-2000 calories a day (as recommended by SP) and to burn off at least 2500 calories a week through exercise (This generally averages out to about 45 minutes a day 5 days a week).

2/2/2010 - Starting weight 180
2/9/2010 - 173.5
2/16/2010 - 173
2/23/2010 - 172
3/2/2010 -173.5
3/9/2010 - 169
3/16/2010 - 167.5
3/23/2010 - 165.0

I'm a fitness instructor, so I teach strength training and a plyometrics class. Besides that I do:

Jillian Michael's 30 Day Shred,
Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism
No More Trouble Zones
Yoga videos by Rodney Yee

I also mountain bike, road bike, horseback ride, run, and do pretty much anything possible outdoors. I've been cloistered away inside lately because of rain and cold, but this summer I'll be kickin' it outside again!

Please feel free to message me, leave a comment, or save me as a friend. I love the support here, and conversely I LOVE to support other people! So, please introduce yourself and become a friend!

Member Since: 2/1/2010

Fitness Minutes: 5,885

My Goals:
What I want most is to feel healthy, fit, and beautiful. I also would *really* like to see 150 on the scale again. I haven't seen that number since 10 years ago when I was a sophomore in high school....

My Program:
I began by following the meal plan laid out by SparkPeople. However, I quickly learned what I do and do not like, and now I mostly follow my own laid out plans each day. I buy groceries and have a dicing and cooking day once a week. I also began by reading the Beck Diet Solution to learn how to *motivate* myself and think correctly in order to lose weight and keep it off for good. I struggle with emotional eating when bored, frustrated, or anxious, and this book helped me quite a bit.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
I love horses, singing, dancing, biking, kayaking, and all things outdoors. I live in Chattanooga now which affords me ample opportunity to be outside all the time! If you live in Chattanooga too, we should be friends and have outdoor adventures together!

Read More About FOOFIT1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 28)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 196.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    I thought you knew I had a pair. I've had them for about a year. You would LOVE them for kayaking! I have used them just for walking, dancing, etc, but I have learned that I still have to be cautious using them too much b/c of my knees and arches. You should look into them!
    3621 days ago
  • v ELYMWX
    Thanks for the comment on my blog. I'm in Canada (near Vancouver BC) and surprise, surprise, I do kayak. We've got vacation property on one of the Gulf Islands between the BC mainland and Vancouver Island, and I really enjoyed getting out on the water last summer. I considered going for some kayak rides again over the winter, but the fact that I've only got a summer-weight shortie wetsuit kind of made me rethink that idea :-) The area around where I live (and over on the island) is rather hilly so while I don't do much true-blue mountain biking, I do seem to get my intervals in when cycling. It's fun, but I'm suspecting that was putting too much stress on my tibia which is one of the reasons it's taking so long to heal. Grrrrr
    3655 days ago
  • v TOOTHFUL99
    Thanks for the advice on my blog. It is frustrating to raise two boys that are complete opposites. How does that happen?? He's talked about the military, but never followed through with it. Right now, he cleans, DJ's and bartends at a local tavern, has no driver's license or vehicle, has unpaid fines and has extremely low self esteem. It's very hard not to look back and question every parenting move I've ever made.
    Maybe someday things will finally click for him. (I hope!)
    3698 days ago
    Fooooooooofi! I cannot wait to see you soon! :)
    3705 days ago
    Yeah, just do measurements or try on the same pair of jeans. I hate the scale, I HATE IT!!! It is the devil emoticon !
    3710 days ago
Member Comments (267):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>