50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 50,701

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KARLA2018
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello! My name is Karla. I am 52 years old. I have one daughter, Ariel who is 23 and married to Ben. They live in Louisiana because he got a job at the Army base in Leesville as an air traffic controller. Ariel goes to college online and takes care of their two dogs. I miss her very much. I have been married three, almost four years, to my wonderful husband Rob. He is a hard worker, great cook and all around handyman. He is also my biggest cheerleader. We live with and take care of my father, Mike, since he was diagnosed with Alzheimer's. We see to his day to day needs and make sure he gets to go out a couple days a week to an adult day care which gives us all a break from each other. I get paid a few hours a week to work at home taking care of him. It's hard to get out and do much because we do not have a vehicle right now and we have to rely on others to get a ride where we need to go. We are also on a limited budget which makes it hard to follow a healthy meal plan (meaning enough fruits and vegetables) at times, but we do the best we can. We all have health issues we have to take care of. For instance, my father has diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, heart issues and of course Alzheimer's; Rob has extreme high blood pressure, vein disease, diabetes, heart problems, neuropathy, and deafness in one ear. They could start their own pharmacy with the amount of medicine they have to take. I have high cholesterol, diabetes and am starting to go through menopause. The main reason I joined is to learn to live a healthier life so I can not only avoid having to be put on ore meds but eventually I want to get off what I am now taking. I am looking forward to the journey ahead with some trepidation but also some excitement to see what God has in store for me this year.

Member Since: 1/1/2017

Fitness Minutes: 7,082

My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:
I enjoy reading, writing, knitting, watching movies and playing games on my kindle and computer. I love cats and we currently have 4 upstairs cats, 3 downstairs/basement cats (which are my daughters) and several outside/half feral cats that we feed. With all the cats we have no rodent problems. We are also taking care of my daughter's dog until they move somewhere with space for her.

Read More About KARLA2018 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 21)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (38):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>