go to goodies page
Fresh Veggies
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with LINMAGILL
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hi, my name is Linda. I am on SparkPeople because of an article I saw in an email from Better Homes and Gardens. I am overweight by almost 100 lbs., though being so tall (6'4") tends to hide it. My mother was morbidly obese, and she struggled for years trying to get the weight off, Weight Watchers, TOPPS, you name it, she tried it. She was so ashamed of her weight and I know how unhappy she was. To top it off, she got no help from my father, who was very good at sabotaging her efforts. I remember as a kid, my family and I once went on a trip and we stopped at one of those all-night diners and I watched her eat. She sat hunched over her food with one arm wrapped around it. I'm not sure if she was embracing it or trying to keep it from escaping. I remember feeling sorry for her and thinking to myself "I will NEVER be like that." Yet here I am, taller than she was and not as heavy, but on my way there.

Even so, it took more than that to get me really motivated to get off my kiester and kick it into gear. About a year ago, I was diagnosed with high blood pressure, this on top of the tachycardia (fast heartbeat) I have had all of my life. Lately the palpitations from the tachycardia have been getting worse, so the doctor has switched me from an ACE inhibitor to a beta-blocker to better control it. I am beginning to see the path I'm on, and I'm afraid it's pointing to a pacemaker. So, time to change direction. I have "lurked" on SparkPeople long enough.

My challenge to myself, for today, everyday: This is my new path, new learning, new experience. I intend for it to last.

Member Since: 1/26/2010

Fitness Minutes: 3,110

My Goals:
My goals are to lose 100 lbs in order to help control my blood pressure.

My Program:
I have started exercising and doing a lot more walking. I'm also trying to eat better, adding more fruits and fresh vegetables. This year: a veggie garden!

Personal Information:
I live and work near Huntsville, Alabama, a place blessed enough with history and natural beauty to make anyone want to get out and enjoy it. I have three dogs, one of whom, Mack, is turning into a real coach. No rest and relaxation until I take him for a walk!

Other Information:
I really enjoy mystery and fantasy books, Slacker radio, crocheting, and walking. I also love spending time with my sisters and their families.

Read More About LINMAGILL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 12)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 266.0 
Login to Leave Comment