See this image larger

See this image larger
Norma Jean 5 weeks, 6 days after major surgery on July 4, 2013. Two weeks back in the gym.

See this image larger
I've lost 95 lbs in6 years - 55 with Spark People - YMCA

go to goodies page
Thank You Message
go to goodies page
Thank You Card
go to goodies page
High Five

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with NWOODS9
Add as SparkFriend Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I joined the Silver Sneakers Program at the Cleaver Family YMCA in Kansas City, Missouri on Feburary 5, 2013. I joined SparkPeople on February 17, 2013.

Since joining, I've eliminated using a cane and antidepressant medication (used for approximately 15 years). I was a couch potato prior to joining. I've lost weight too. Not at my goal, but have put 93 lb dent in the goal of 120 pounds. I know I will get there in my life's journey to a better life style.

I crave exercise. I don't have the urge to lay around. I have so much energy more than I can remember since I was an adolescent. That's a time span of 53 years.

I was off the cane in 3 months and off the medication in 5 months.

With regular exercise and the Spark tool tracking components I found the key to my life's journey to good nutrition and wellness in general.

My life has changed for the best!!

Currently I'm discovering other resources Spark People that I never explored before. I joined Spark Coach, resulting in 28 Day Bootcamp Challenge. Use fitness videos.


Member Since: 2/5/2013

My Goals:
**** Changes to rellect my current status Under Construction 12-22-2014

Lost 93 olbs. Had knee surgery June 2, 2014. Feel like a new person except need to get other knee done.

Forward and Better!!!

My Program:
Tracking food, sleep, and fitness daily.

Using pedometer to track steps as of Feb 14, 2013.

Good practice. I walk more since starting to use this tool.

Personal Information:
My name is Norma Jean Westbrook.

I'm 67 years old. I retired in June, 2012.

I'm divorced and like the single life.

I was born in Charleston, Mississippi, raised in Chicago, Illinois since 5 years old. Living in Kansas City Missouri for the last 30 years.

Still call Chicago home because my family and long time friends live there. I love Kansas City though!!

I rally around and support Chicago sports teams first, and Kansas City teams second. When the teams don't play each other, I'm an loyal fan of each!!

Other Information:
I'm a advanced knitter. Like sports, fishing, gardening and a pretty good chess player. I had a rating with the chess federation many years ago, but could not qualify after not playing regularly and getting rusty. Maybe, I'll regain that ranking.

I'm discovering more good and positive actions
since joining the Spark community.

I feel so much better plus, I see physical results.

Read More About NWOODS9 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated December 22)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (46):  123Next >Last >>