See this image larger
Crossing the finish line at my first half-marathon, June 2, 2013.

See this image larger

See this image larger
Bedtime at our house: occasionally cheerful, rarely orderly.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page
Gold Star
LGBTQ Spark Fam...

Interact with PJ51798
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Nice Jewish boy, made from scratch with mostly natural ingredients, working on becoming new and improved, lowfat, and extra-strength. I'm 59, living in a suburb of Minneapolis with the love of my life (SUEGR98), our two amazing children, and Noah's Ark Lite: two rat terriers, two cats, two bunnies, and two bearded dragons. Currently I'm a stay-at-home dad, working part-time at a gas station/convenience store in our neighborhood, and putting the pieces in place to return to chaplaincy or a related field. After spending most of my life estranged from my body on one level or another, I am grateful to be alive, sober, relatively functional, and putting one foot in front of the other a day at a time.


Member Since: 3/13/2012

Fitness Minutes: 26,888

My Goals:
*Run a real-time 5K under 40 minutes - DONE 10/20/12 38'06"
*Complete a half-marathon - DONE 6/2/13 2:43:57
*Train for and complete a marathon in 2013 - DONE 10/20/13 6:14:12
*Continue running 3-4 times a week
*Complete the 100 pushups program
*Successfully complete the strength and agility test to become a volunteer firefighter
*Reach and maintain my goal weight of 140
*Eat vegan 95% or more of the time
*Find/earn $5000 to finance completion of studies for rabbinic ordination by mid-2015 without putting additional pressure on household finances
*Complete studies and become eligible for ordination in mid-2015
*Return to paid or semi-paid chaplaincy work
*Find niches within my faith community, my geographic community, and my political party for more consistently active volunteering
*Maintain a positive, loving influence on my family and friends
*Travel with my wife and children to Israel and to India (both kids' birth country)

My Program:
I track my food daily, eat and cook vegetarian/wannabe-vegan, run 3-4 times a week (started with C25K), and walk or bike for local errands whenever possible. My current growing edge is becoming consistent with strength training.

Personal Information:
Hopkins, MN USA

Other Information:
"Do not disdain any person;
Do not underrate the importance of anything --
For there is no person who does not have his hour,
And there is no thing without its place in the sun."
(Pirkei Avot 4:3)

Read More About PJ51798 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 23)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 152.6 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (34):  123Next >Last >>