SP Premium
CK-DUBYA

SparkPoints
 

Who am I?

Thursday, March 08, 2012

My name is Chad and I live in a very rural area of Utah. Although we don’t have any livestock, we are surrounded by fields and pastures. Our house is about 15 minutes walking distance from BLM land and mountains. One of my favorite stress relievers is to wander around the foothills. It’s just an added bonus that it happens to be heart healthy as well.

I have a wonderful wife who is very supportive of the changes I am making to be a healthier individual. We have three sons and a daughter. The oldest is 11 and the youngest is 4. We used to have a dog; it was a sad day when she couldn’t come walking in the foothills with me anymore. We also used to have a large aquarium with good sized fish. However, the tank cabinet definitely had wear and tear. Finally, we decided to stop replacing fish when they died. When the last one gave up the ghost we retired the tank. Currently we have a cat. I’ve never been much of a cat person, but she was a necessity given the amount of rodents near our house. I have to admit that she has grown on me. She usually curls up to sleep by my feet on our bed.

I am the oldest of 7 siblings and both my wife and I have lived in Utah for our whole lives. I met my wife at a company that we both worked at. Interestingly, she turned me down when I asked her out the first time – something about having to wash her hair if I remember. Luckily, I didn’t give up that easy and she finally went out with me. (I was just kidding about the hair washing, FYI.)

I received an associate’s degree in computer science and worked in that industry for six years before deciding that I didn’t enjoy spending eight hours a day behind a computer. I went back to school and got a bachelor’s degree in chemistry. I worked in a chemistry lab before and after graduation for a total of seven years. About a year ago I transitioned into an engineering position with the same company.

For hobbies, I love to fish. We go fishing as a family several times every year. Additionally, I try to go fly fishing every month. I find it very relaxing to tie flies and will do that while watching TV in the evening. I also love to SCUBA dive although living in Utah isn’t very conducive to that hobby. I enjoy swimming and was on the swim team in high school and spent my summers as a lifeguard at a lake at a Boy Scout camp. I also enjoy going to schools to do science demonstrations. I’ve been to my kids’ school a couple of times and a few other high schools around the area. It’s not often, but I love seeing the kids react to a demonstration or be able to perform their own experiments.

Although I was fairly athletic in high school my activity level has seriously declined since then. I’m now on track to once again be healthy. Even if I can’t be as athletic as I once was, I am determined to be the healthiest I can. I love SparkPeople and the interaction with other people facing the same challenges and struggles that I do.


Update: I'm adding a quick note, admittedly this blog looks like a new member blog, but I have been on SP for more than 2 years. I haven't been active for that entire time, but I have been very regular for more than 6 months now and I've lost almost 40 punds. I posted this blog because I was asked to co-lead the team 30 Somethings with 50-99 Pounds to Lose. (Come join us - we rock!!) I felt comfortable letting the team and the rest of my friends (and if you are reading this you are my friend :)) know more about me. I appreciate the "Welcome to SP" comments, but I don't mean to mislead anyone. -All the best, Chad
Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post