See this image larger
Jeri and me on the Great Wall of China in 2007

See this image larger
Jeri - wonderful wife of 45 years

See this image larger
Reading to grandson Samuel in Germany

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
Over 60, 70 and...
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving

Interact with HISTORYBUFF1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm a 68 year old married white male, with 3 grown children and 6 grand children. I love history, old architecture, international travel and retirement. Spent most of my adult life training business & professional people here and abroad, plus worked with refugees from 1996 to 2009. June 2010, we moved to mountains of northeast California (from Chicago area), to be caregivers for widowed Moms. Mine's 89 and had strokes; mother in law is 85 and has alzheimers. We did such a good job with my Mom, she moved out - next door, so we do now have a bit more privacy. Both my Mom and wife love to cook, so I could use dieting/exercising encouragement. I'd also love to meet new friends, as we live in small logging town of 2300. Thanks for your help and understanding - blessings, Larry - lskendrick@frontier.com

Member Since: 8/14/2008

My Goals:
I hope to lose 75 pounds in the next two years - so I can enjoy my retirement and be healthy enough to travel and help family and friends as needed

My Program:
I've used calorie & behavior modification goals in the past that work for me - key thing is to keep calories under 1800 per day. I did this a couple of years ago and lost 35 lbs, but put it all back on. I also need to workout on treadmill regularly, plus other exercises, hiking, etc.

Personal Information:
Born & raised in California, I graduated San Francisco State University in 1966 with a BA in History. Later earned a Master's in Education. Have been a trainer/leader of lay business people most of my career. Married 43 years last Sept. 2; have 3 grown children and 6 grand kids - 4 in Germany, & 2 in Pennsylvania. Older daughter has no kids - only horses, and lives in Maryland

Other Information:
I love estate and library book sales in U.S., and fleamarkets in Germany where our son and family live (near Heidelberg). We like to visit, babysit and vacation with them in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, etc. I Retired in 12/09, "decluttered," remodeled, and sold our house; packed and moved in June, 2010 to mountains of northeast California (Chester), to be caregivers for our elderly Moms. We live with my Mom, who is 87 and has had 2 strokes; & we drive 5 hours to San Francisco Bay area to "Mom sit" mother-in-law with alzheimers.

Read More About HISTORYBUFF1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
    Larry, thank you for your comments on my blog about not assuming when it comes to your meds. I've had to learn some lessons the hard way.

    You and your wife should keep current on all the findings on Alzheimers. The researchers are really working on this one.

    3355 days ago
    That sounds wonderful, Larry. I can see how important family is to you which in my book is wonderful. Wishing you the best of luck on your goals and travels. If there's anything we can do--even if it's just say Hi or read what's going on--just give us a holler.

    Take care and give you family members emoticon

    I prefer Renie
    3355 days ago
    Hi, Renie:
    I've traveled a lot in my life time - I actually worked in Europe for nearly 2 years, and our son has lived in Germany for 11 years or so now. He is in the states right now working at the Pentagon, but is due back in Germany this July. We love visiting him and his wife and 4 young kids, and traveling/vacationing with them. I especially love to go to "flomarts" German flea markets. I've gotten some neat European finds. I've also traveled in Asia a bit, but best traveling right now is a 3rd reunion this June with our 3 grown children and all 6 grand kids on the east coast before our son goes back to Germany. We're renting a house at Harper's Ferry, West Virginia - part of a KOA campground with lots of stuff for the 6 grand kids to do (grand kids are all 12 and under), and for me as a history major. Blessings, Larry - emoticon
    3355 days ago

    Thanks for 'friending' me. I've returned the favor. Looks like you're a busy guy. Out of all the places you've been in person or cyberspace, which did you enjoy the most. Also, is there a certain era you prefer?

    Just nosy and wondering. emoticon

    Renie emoticon
    3356 days ago
  • v NUMEXI17
    Thanks for the add and I hope we encourage each other always to the next level... Shalom, Jennie
    3428 days ago
Member Comments (267):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>