See this image larger
Jeri and me on the Great Wall of China in 2007

See this image larger
Jeri - wonderful wife of 45 years

See this image larger
Reading to grandson Samuel in Germany

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
Over 60, 70 and...
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving

Interact with HISTORYBUFF1
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm a 68 year old married white male, with 3 grown children and 6 grand children. I love history, old architecture, international travel and retirement. Spent most of my adult life training business & professional people here and abroad, plus worked with refugees from 1996 to 2009. June 2010, we moved to mountains of northeast California (from Chicago area), to be caregivers for widowed Moms. Mine's 89 and had strokes; mother in law is 85 and has alzheimers. We did such a good job with my Mom, she moved out - next door, so we do now have a bit more privacy. Both my Mom and wife love to cook, so I could use dieting/exercising encouragement. I'd also love to meet new friends, as we live in small logging town of 2300. Thanks for your help and understanding - blessings, Larry - lskendrick@frontier.com

Member Since: 8/14/2008

My Goals:
I hope to lose 75 pounds in the next two years - so I can enjoy my retirement and be healthy enough to travel and help family and friends as needed

My Program:
I've used calorie & behavior modification goals in the past that work for me - key thing is to keep calories under 1800 per day. I did this a couple of years ago and lost 35 lbs, but put it all back on. I also need to workout on treadmill regularly, plus other exercises, hiking, etc.

Personal Information:
Born & raised in California, I graduated San Francisco State University in 1966 with a BA in History. Later earned a Master's in Education. Have been a trainer/leader of lay business people most of my career. Married 43 years last Sept. 2; have 3 grown children and 6 grand kids - 4 in Germany, & 2 in Pennsylvania. Older daughter has no kids - only horses, and lives in Maryland

Other Information:
I love estate and library book sales in U.S., and fleamarkets in Germany where our son and family live (near Heidelberg). We like to visit, babysit and vacation with them in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, etc. I Retired in 12/09, "decluttered," remodeled, and sold our house; packed and moved in June, 2010 to mountains of northeast California (Chester), to be caregivers for our elderly Moms. We live with my Mom, who is 87 and has had 2 strokes; & we drive 5 hours to San Francisco Bay area to "Mom sit" mother-in-law with alzheimers.

Read More About HISTORYBUFF1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
    Thanks for your welcome. We just moved to the mountains of northeast California to be caregivers to our elderly Mom's, but I've put on 12 lbs just since June, so I need all the encouragement I can get in this battle. Blessings, Larry - lskendrick@frontier.com emoticon
    3897 days ago
    Welcome to Funny I Don't Feel 50 or 60, Its All Good.
    Team Leader
    3897 days ago
    Hi Larry...saw you on a recent tread for 'Fasting'
    Maybe you were busy on other teams... but long time no see, so glad to see you around on the threads. Missed ya!
    with the '50+Members with 25-49 Pounds to Lose'
    emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

    4444 days ago
  • v MS.NOVIA
    Happy Happy Holidays to you and yours, and congrats on that weight coming down, God is good!!!! I know you know the rest...

    You have a nice Holiday, have some fun and enjoy.

    Ms.Novia emoticon
    4557 days ago
  • v SHERYE
    Hi Larry, Congrats on your 5lb lose you are doing really well. Hope your having a good week, also, thanks for adding me on as a friend. I really look forward to chatting with you soon. Your friend

    4621 days ago
Member Comments (267):  << First< Previous5051525354Next >