15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 17,828
See this image larger
Lola... AKA Mole Chaser, Digger. Suspected to be a Southern IL Trench Hound or Welsh Well Digger.

See this image larger
Buster (black) and Bella. Buster is full grown here but Bella is half grown.

See this image larger
Borks's Waterfall, Ferne Clyffe State Park. One of my earlier backpacking adventures.

go to goodies page
Christmas Tree
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Ice Cream Cone

Interact with JAY61
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm 59, live in Southern Illinois, out in the country, and work for a non-profit agency on the state weatherization program doing HVAC work. I typically work Monday thru Thursday 10-11 hours/day. Three day weekends are nice, the job itself has a lot of pros and a few serious cons. LOL. I do a lot of hiking, backpacking, and tent camping. I spend most of my time outdoors regardless of the weather. I had a serious illness in the early 90's and I've recovered as much as can be expected from that, but it left me with arthritis. Otherwise I'm pretty healthy and thankful for that. I have a goal of 175lbs, and pretty much bounce around between 175 and 180. Since I started at 264, I'm very happy with it. EDIT: I'm now 59, and seem to be kinda stuck around 190 lbs, but, yes, I'm still trying to get back to 175-180.

Member Since: 9/9/2017

Fitness Minutes: 14,536

My Goals:
Made my 180 lb goal, and am now aiming for 175. Then maintain. I'm trying to eat smarter, with smaller portions and healthier choices. I'm also trying to exercise more in different ways. Still considering getting a bike, but maybe a kayak is a better choice. Maybe I need both LOL.

My Program:
I track everything I eat, even if I know I'm over calories.I don't worry about being over every now and then, but I don't plan to go over. I try to walk 10,000 steps/day. Still investigating other forms of exercise.

Personal Information:
I live in southern Illinois, been here all my life, but can't say that I want to live here LOL. I love to backpack, hike, tent camp, and walk. I love being outdoors.

Other Information:

Read More About JAY61 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (103):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>