See this image larger
Me and my son after the Trolley Run - his first race! 4 miles. 4/29/12

See this image larger
4 week progress January - February 2014. 8 pound difference from 158.8 to 150.6!

See this image larger
Summer 2011 vs. April 2012. 30 pounds gone!

go to goodies page
Flower Pot
go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hi! I'm Shannon. I'm a recently-remarried mom of a sweet boy, with a very busy career. Just 3 years ago, I weighed 135 pounds and was very healthy. Somehow, by January 2012, my weight ballooned 60 pounds! I didn't see it creeping up on me, but found myself frustrated, sad, and ashamed, and couldn't wear the majority of the clothes in my closet. Though I was always thin until my early 20s, this has been a cycle I've struggled with since then - my entire adult life. I have PCOS which complicates the situation and makes it so easy for me to gain if I'm not being vigilant. But I'm NOT blaming PCOS - the truth is, I have been making bad choices in both my diet and my fitness. Even with my PCOS, when I am doing the right things for my diet and being consistent with exercise, I am able to maintain a healthy weight. So, the fault lies with my own lack of consistency, though it sure would be easy to blame it on PCOS. :) It comes down to this: I'm sick of yo-yo dieting and yo-yo weight...I'm sick of feeling down on myself and I want my confidence back!

I came to Spark in January 2012 with the goal of trying to keep myself accountable. And, of course, turn that accountability into sustainable weight loss! I've been working out, drinking water, eating clean, gave up Dr. Pepper, and most of all, I'm trying to learn to love myself. Even though I don't look like what I want to in the mirror (YET!) I'm starting to love my body RIGHT NOW because it's growing stronger and feeling better. My negative self-talk is getting quieter. Since starting this journey, my almost-daily headaches are RARE and I haven't had a single migraine (used to be a frequent occurrence). I'm not to my goal yet and my weightloss journey has had some stumbles and ups and downs, but this journey has been a good one and I've found so much support and encouragement on Spark. I finally realize my goals are attainable, sustainable, and nothing will stop me!

Member Since: 1/7/2012

Fitness Minutes: 24,448

My Goals:
My goal weight is now ultimately 135 (smack dab in the middle of my healthy weight range - I'm almost 5'6). In 2012 I started at 196.7 and got to my original goal of 155 by wedding day. I intend to be at my 135 goal no later than May 1, 2014 (sooner would be awesome, but May 1 is just in time for swimsuit season, and gives me plenty of time to focus on overall fitness and not just the number!). Once I get to maintenance, I intend to stick to a range of 135-140.

Run for Mercy 5k - DONE! 4/7/12 - 36:10
Trolley Run (4 miles) - DONE! 4/29/12 - 55 mins (with my little man!)
Warrior Dash 5k - 5/5/12 - DONE! 1:02
LAKC 5k - 5/6/12 - DONE! 37:28
Warrior Dash Iowa 3.5 miles - 7/14/12 - DONE! 48 mins!
Warrior Dash KC 2013 - DONE! 55 mins!
Dirty Girl Run - 6/22/13 - DONE! (not timed)
Warrior Dash Iowa - 8/24/2013 - DONE! 60 minutes!
Warrior Dash KC 2014
WinForKC Triathlon - July 2014

My Program:
Eating clean: Fresh fruits and veggies, whole grains, fish, and chicken. No processed foods - if it's in a box or can, I'm not eating it (or, I'm eating it very rarely).

Exercise: 5-6 days per week. Even if it's only a 30 minute run or a vigorous walk, I want to do SOMETHING almost every day. I'm doing a "bootcamp" in my neighbor's garage 3 mornings a week, and trying to run or walk on the other days. I'm not pressuring myself at this point as long as I'm getting at least 30 minutes of good, hard exercise in each day. And when I say "good, hard" exercise, I mean if I'm only working out for 30 minutes, I better work extra hard for that 30 minutes and have sweat dripping off my body and feel like I'm going to die by the end :)

Personal Information:
Trial lawyer by day. Full-time mommy to one sweet boy, three dogs, a turtle (and a partridge in a pear tree). Step-mom to three more boys. Wife to a very supportive husband. Totally OCD. Book lover. Amateur decorator. Writer. Happy hour expert. Shoe collector. First-time gardener. Horrible cook (but learning). And unfortunately, a carb lover who can never resist pasta or bread. Woops.

Other Information:
"Let today be the day you give up who you've been for who you can become."

Read More About KUJAYHAWKGIRL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 6)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 144.9 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (57):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>