See this image larger
Me at my best 1987

See this image larger
Me at my worst 1974

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Latter-Day Sain...
go to goodies page
Happy Face
Latter-Day Sain...
go to goodies page

NEVA42 is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food Tracker
Interact with NEVA42
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am 69 years old. I was born 24 December 1942. I have had a weight problem all my life due to abuse, depression and anxiety. I am the oldest of ten children. My highest weight was 600 pounds. I had the gastric bypass and the stomach stapling in 1978 and 1979. If you look at the pictures on the left, That is the best weight I have had so far. and the picture on the lower left is the worst or closest to the worst I have ever been so far when I weighd 600 pounds or close to it. In the photo gallery you will find one of me in a white dress this is the day I went into the hospital for the Gastric Bypass in 1978. The picture on my shirt in another one is my family when I was about twelve also. And yet another one is at my worst just before I decided to do the surgery. I am single [divorced after 21 years] . I am disabled with a bad back and legs and spend a lot of time on the computer making friends. I also work out at the local YMCA doing water aerobics in the pool. I also help teach small children how to swim, I am a volunteer there. I am also Diabetic. And they tell me that also I am losing my eyes. I have three cataracts of which two of nthem can be fixed as soon as they are [ripe] enough. I had a pet Cockatiel named Echo who was a joy to me [he played peek-a-boo]. But he died a few years ago and I have not yet replaced him.
I try to look for the good in everything and everyone.
My favorite Passtime is Genealogy, I now have 45,000+ names added to my Family history. I have been doing the Genealogy for about 50 years.
I also returned to High School later in my life, with the teenagers and got my Diploma. Then went to collage in 1983 and even later than that in about 1993 I think it was I went back to college and took a CNA class. But I still do not feel any smarter. Just determined.
But I also enjoy all crafts, Tatting, Crochet, Knitting, Embroidery, Counted Cross Stitch, Tube Painting, and even dabbled in woodworking and many others. Just about anything. And would love to learn more. I love creating beautiful things, but I usually give them away. I also built my own floor to ceiling, wall to wall bookcase. And done several scroll saw projects like Christmas wall hangings etc.
I have also been spending a lot of time learning how to Operate this computer thingy. I now have a desktop that is a vista print, and a Laptop that is windows7 and this year I got an ipad2 and none of them want to work together. This is very frustrating to an older person. LOL
My favorite Movie is The Sound of Music and all Musicals by Rogers and Hammerstein.
My favorite book is Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I have two sets of Little Women Porcelin dolls along with many other dolls as well. I am in the meddle of getting rid of most of my dolls, I am getting older and I don't have the room anymore. I will probably be giving them to a homeless shelter where they can be appreciated. I also love the Love inspired books when I get a chance.

My favorite Music is that of the 40's 50's and 60's, ofcourse. LOL. Also the easy listening, Christian Music, and the old stuff.
I am active in My church and really enjoy it. I am also in the Church Choir.

Member Since: 3/5/2008

Fitness Minutes: 50,656

My Goals:
I had hoped to reach a goal of 150 pounds but my Doctor feels that is too much and too unrealistic. And since I have about 50 to 70 pounds of flab on me I guess she is right. So right now I hope to reach 180 or 190.

My Program:
Because of health problems I am living on a bowl of Homemde soup a day. Now I want to break that up and make smaller portions throughout the day. I also do water aerobics four times a week at the Local YMCA. And I am taking some learning to swim classes.

Personal Information:
My name is Geneva May Thompson after my two Grandmothers. I live in Idaho. I am the oldest of ten children-6 still living.
NOTE: everything on this page is optional, you can enter as much or little as you like. If you enter something like your email address,

remember it can be seen or found by anyone on the internet.

Other Information:
I used to love to cook and I collect Recipe books back to 1912. My favorite books are historys, Historical novels, Little women and that series. My favorite Music is Easy Listening and music of the 40's, 50's and some 60's. I love children but do not have any of my own. My Favorite quote is "No one cares how much you know until they know how much you care. My favorite movies are Rogers and Hammerstein musicals and "The Sound of Music."

Read More About NEVA42 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated December 19)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 180.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (181):  123Next >Last >>