150,000-199,999 SparkPoints 160,220
See this image larger
Me when I was 42 and 185 pounds

See this image larger
Me on my bike at a benefit ride in April 2015

See this image larger
My husband Ben and I at my daughters' double wedding

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with PATTI7177
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi all! I am a 51 yr old mom of 5 and grandma of 7! Actually that is not quite accurate. I have 3 daughters at this point. My son died while risk-taking September of 2008 at the age of 22. He was my only boy and I couldn't have been more proud of him. I also lost my second oldest daughter to hydrocephalus in April 2012. Her son is my oldest grandson. I left a controlling and abusive husband in June 2008, spent the summer living in a domestic violence shelter, moved into my own apartment and started college in August, then lost my son. I had previously weighed in at 247 lbs on my 40th birthday and started changing my life. I was at a very healthy 183- running 3 miles several days a week and weight training. People told me I looked like one of my kids and an athlete. With all that happened I ate to console myself and stopped exercising. Now with my Bachelor's degree behind me and weighing in at 257, I am again concentrating on me. I am now a Teacher, working with special needs students. I also have met the most wonderful man who loves me just the way I am but is committed to getting healthier with me. We got engaged July 11, 2011 and were married May 26, 2012. His name is Ben! Thanks for letting me share! I am looking forward to success and making friends!! Have a great day...

Member Since: 5/3/2009

Fitness Minutes: 167,977

My Goals:
To do my best for my students; become healthy again; spend more time with my husband, kids, and grandkids; redo my house the way I want it to be.

My Program:
I am continuing my education, bike riding and walking with my husband, consciously making an effort to be involved with my kids and grandkids regularly, taking care of myself by seeing doctors for regular check-ups, yearly mammograms, and even skin checks for potential skin cancer.

Personal Information:
I have lived in Spring Hill Florida for the last 33 years. I grew up in Bergen County NJ, specifically a little town called Oradell.

Other Information:
My husband Benjamin is the greatest blessing I have been given besides my children and grandchildren. He is my support and guide through life. I love kids! My favorite movie of all time is "Yours, Mine, and Ours" the original version.

Read More About PATTI7177 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 196.2 
Login to Leave Comment
    I ended up making the post I shared with you a blog without mentioning your name. I liked my cleverness. :)
    1837 days ago
    So many of us who have lost our children are special education teachers. Does God know strong we are? Is that why we are His voice for others who have lost children?

    Here's a simplified goal with objectives...

    Goal: Given SparkPeople, we will communicate with friends to help each other reach our optimum health.
    Objective: We will check into Spark People at least every other day.
    Objective: We will drink our water (at least 64 ounces a day).
    Objective We will exercise in any format for at least ten minutes a day to start.
    Objective: We will eat the foods that we know are good for us, as God intended.

    1837 days ago
    Hello! I wanted to thank you for the "goodie" you sent me today (5/30/16). Just last week, I was telling some people about SparkPeople and the Unexpected Angels board. I truly believe the board saved my sanity. I'm doing okay, but I need to come back
    1850 days ago
    Hello Patti! Thank you for the goodie!
    I enjoyed reading your short bio. Thank you for sharing. I am also a wife and I used to be a teacher. I taught FSL. Although I still teach on occasion, I teach adults, and mostly people, who will also be facilitating. I work for the Government of Canada. Anthony (that's my husband) and I don't have children...yet? We want children, but I'm getting on in age (41) and I'm having trouble conceiving because of my age and weight. So, we've taken to adopting animals; we now have 3 labrador retrievers (Scout, Freddy and Betty) and 3 cats (Mouser, Bootsy and Timmy). It can get quite chaotic in our house.
    1921 days ago
  • v CRETE2953
    Thanks for the nice words on my blog Patti. It's all of you, my friends at SP, who are an encouragement for me.
    1925 days ago
Member Comments (83):  << First< Previous23456Next >Last >>