See this image larger
before pic 1

See this image larger

See this image larger
See, you can still lose weight and have a martini once in awhile

go to goodies page
New Purse
go to goodies page
Apple Cider
go to goodies page
Gold Star

URBANNENA is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Interact with URBANNENA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi! I'm Melissa. I'm 24 and a mom to 2 boys. Im a pretty down to earth and fun person with the exception that I am battling a major food addiction. I am on a mental and physical journey to losing weight. In Nov. of 2004 I was scheduled to have gastric bypass surgery. I made it all the way to the operating room before I chickened out. I promised myself that I would do it the "right" way but I just kept gaining weight. I started at the end of May 2006 and I love it here..SP has completely changed my life.

***Ok so it's been over 2 years since I joined SP and I have lost over 150 lbs. My life has dramatically changed from when I first started. So much so that I have decided to pursue a career in fitness and nutrition consulting. I have since become a certified personal trainer and also do exercise and nutrition consulting. For anyone needing motivation: while losing weight is one of the hardest things I've ever done, it's not impossible to do. And it is so worth all the blood, sweat and tears. If I can do it, YOU can do it! ***

Member Since: 3/20/2006

Fitness Minutes: 120

My Goals:
My short term goals are: to lose 50 pounds, and to just overall learn how to eat healthier, control my portions, and make health and fitness part of my everyday life.
**This was written when I first joined SP over 2 years ago. I never thought it would be possible. Now my goals are to just eat healthy, exercise often, and try to maintain my weight between 145-150lbs.**

My Program:
In the past I have literally done everything. After having my second child 2 years ago, I really stopped caring and besides joining a gym and going pretty consistently but still eating everything I wanted, I have not done much. It is now that I am starting anew and trying to do something different.

I am a personal trainer and a certified sports nutritionist so health and fitness are part of my everday life. Therefore I have found that I have to keep challenging myself and my body to keep the weight off. I lift weights 3-4 days a week, do cardio about 5-6 days a week, and participate in half-marathons, and local bootcamps. Anything to keep my heart pumping in new and exciting ways ;)

Personal Information:
I am Puertorican, and while I was born there I was primarily raised in Miami, FL. About 16 months ago I moved to the DFW metroplex in Texas and now I'm back in South FL. I''m married and have 2 rambunctious boys. =0)

Other Information:
I''m a music-a-holic! Music is part of my everyday life regardless of where am at. It affects my moods, motivates me, and I could not live without it. I also love tattoos, body mods, pin-ups, anything retro/rockabilly!

Read More About URBANNENA - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 144.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (940):  123Next >Last >>