See this image larger
June 18, 2008 165 lbs

See this image larger
5 months pregnant with my 1st

See this image larger
6 months pregnant with my 2nd (and my McDonald's)

go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Cleaning Service

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with WESTENDGIRL75
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Getting back on track, almost 4 years exactly from the first time I found Sparkpeople.com. A lot has happened in that time, the most significant of which was the arrival of our third child on Feb 15, 2011.

Motivation comes from within yourself and support comes from your friends.

I'm in my 30's so you know I've dieted before. I've been hovering around the mid-180 lb mark for a few years now, and it's got to stop! I watched my weight gradually creep to this level. I was a slim and sporty 135 in high school, but I've got my feet ground in reality and realize I may never see 135 again; but 140 would be nice! I'm looking at tackling the weight 10% at a time, as you can read in My Goals.

I have been a sugar addict most of my life and had no idea that it was probably what made me gain weight a bit at a time all of my life. It didn't matter if it was real sugar, Splenda, Aspartame or Acesuphame K (potassium), I was spiking my blood sugar constantly and triggering an insulin response that shouted to my body, "STORE THIS AS FAT". It's a wonder I didn't develop an insulin resistance. Thank my lucky stars!

After high school was University, which put on 10 lbs. I quit university to start my 'career' (or so I thought) and put on another 5 lbs. or more when I was diagnosed with clinical depression. I was probably depressed since I was in my late teens and didn't know it. It got so bad that at one point I made a poor decision to get fat on purpose. What was I thinking?

I moved all over the place, had all kinds of jobs, some fun and a few heartbreaks . I crammed on another 15 lbs before meeting the man I thought I was supposed to marry. I followed him across the ocean to his home country, and tried to make it work for 3 years. I started running, weightlifting, everything I could to bring my weight down 10lbs. Then when I didn't see a proposal coming, and had a wakeup call when he had to get his MOTHER help him break up with me, I returned to Canada.

I put 10 lbs back on before I had the courage to start over and try again. I put an ad online and decided to start making new friends. I met my husband, and in our happy eating put on 15 more lbs. I was pregnant twice in 15 months, and now here I am, trying to get rid of it all.

I'm getting really good at setting goals for myself. I love the feeling I get when I reach one, and for me the key is to use the S.M.A.R.T goal setting system. That is, the goal has to be Specific, Measureable, Attainable, Relevant and Timely.

I say WHAT I want to do, HOW I will measure my success, I set small incremental goals to ensure I don't get discouraged along the way (Attainable), make them related to my current fitness routine, and finally set an 'end date' whenever possible.

I've got more goals on my fridge to refer to than I have on my SparkPeople page. They are related to both speed and endurance on the treadmill, and some are repeated from my goals that ARE on my page. I really like meeting those goals, seeing the big fat checkmarks and then trying to think of a new goal to reach.

Who knows where Sparkpeople will take me next!

Member Since: 2/3/2008

Fitness Minutes: 21,217

My Goals:
Goal #1: Weigh under 180lbs

GOAL #2: Weigh less than 170 lbs

GOAL #3: Weigh less than 160 lbs

Goal #4: Run 5K without walking

GOAL #5: Run 5K for charity

Goal #6: Join a community sports team (e.g. volleyball)

GOAL #7: Fit back into my size 8-10 clothes

Goal #8: Walk/Run 10K

Goal #9: inspire someone else to join Sparkpeople

Goal #10: Feel comfortable in a bathing suit

My Program:
Reduce my intake of total calories, avoiding sugar, processed and fast foods.

Cardio at least three times a week and gradually introducing strength training at least twice a week.

Drinking 8 glasses of water a day (or more!) as often as possible.

Supplement as required with multi-Vitamins, CLA, PGX daily, VitalGreens etc.

Personal Information:
From Ontario, Canada and in my 30's, happily married to TOASTGOD and mother of three young children: ages 5, 4 and 1.

I work part time in the electronics department of my local Wal-Mart to keep my sanity and bring in some hard earned cash at the same time!

Other Information:

Read More About WESTENDGIRL75 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 197.3