SP Premium
SRWYLIE
750,000-999,999 SparkPoints 765,110
SparkPoints
 

Day 280 - Getting to Know Me

Saturday, September 05, 2015

Getting to know me…..
I copied this from another blog, and think it is really fun. Copy it and fill in the answers or add your own!! This is a great way for us to get to know each other! (Thanks, Jane!)

Where is your cell phone? On the kitchen counter. I just got my 9am SparkPeople Coaching reminder
Spouse? My wonderful husband of 15.33333 years, also named Steve
Your hair? Short, medium brown with just a few gray hairs for “highlights”
Your Mother? Joan, turning 81 on September 15. Suffers from depression and is a challenge to be around.
Your Father? Richard (Dick), 84. One of the most outgoing people I’ve ever known. He can talk to a stranger for hours. I’m a blend of both of my parents personalities, but the qualities like my dad’s that are positive definitely outweigh the negative aspects of my mom that I’ve inherited.
Your favorite thing? My positive outlook on life, and spending time with good friends.
Favorite drink? Right now – hot tea
What room are you in? The breakfast room, where my laptop usually is
Your hobby? Sparking. Health and fitness, blogging too.
Your fear? Heights, really bad.
Where do you want to be in 6 years? The healthiest, fittest 64 year old I can be.
Where were you last night? At our friend Bill’s for dinner and to watch the Greg Louganis documentary.
Something that you aren't? Unintelligent. Not to brag, but I used to be a member of Mensa. Terrible, snobby organization. It reminds me of the Groucho Marx quote: “I don’t want to belong to any club that would accept me as one of its members.”
Muffins? I would love to have one of Jane’s awesome bran muffins. I love muffins, but they are a no-no. (Hello? You're really just cake!)
Wish list item? A cure for diabetes (and understanding and enlightenment for those who suffer from it)
Last thing you did? Ate breakfast, my favorite meal of the day
What are you wearing? T-shirt and basketball shorts (my current PJs)
Your pets? Stella, the 2-year-old black Chihuahua, is in my lap. Sherman, the 11-year-old Chihuahua, who is in his cave under the bed upstairs.
Friends? Yes, they are a blessing every day
Your life? Better than ever.
Your mood? Full of joy and gratitude
Missing someone? No, thankfully.
Pet Peeve? Anything that triggers my OCD, like a badly folded T-shirt or the curly cord on a telephone that is twisted.
Drinking? Trying to keep to just the weekends, a glass of wine or my favorite bourbon.
Your car? 2010 Black Toyota Prius IV.
Something you're not wearing? Any of the clothes that are hanging in my closet. I’m also not wearing my birthstone ring because it no longer fits on my right hand after my accident. I need to get it resized.
Your favorite store? Trader Joe’s
Your favorite color? Yellow (orange is a close second)
When is the last time you cried? At my Uncle Don’s celebration of life service, listening to wonderful stories of our family.
Where do you go over and over? I guess I’d have to say Work, since I go there most days, but then I always go back home.
Favorite place to eat? Home
Favorite place I'd like to be right now? Other than here? Probably San Francisco. I lived there for 18 years, and to me, it’s still “home” – although where we are right now in Clearlake is going to overtake it in 3… 2…. 1……..
Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post
  • WENDYANNE61
    Sounds like you are having a good start to the day, Steve! Happy Sunday too!
    2156 days ago
  • RHOOK20047
    Where is your cell phone? Next to me at my desk.
    Spouse? Margaret my bride of 39 years.
    Your hair? Short light brown with lots of gray unless I use Just for Men!
    Your Mother? Deceased- was a stay at home mom and gave of her self til her dying day.
    Your Father? Deceased - was a blue collar work all his life
    Your favorite thing? Family, faith and friends.
    Favorite drink? Iced tea.
    What room are you in? Living room where my desk is
    Your hobby? Sparking and church..
    Your fear? to be broke and desolate and gaining my weight back
    Where do you want to be in 6 years?Healthy and retired
    Where were you last night? Working
    Something that you aren't? Snobbish or selfish
    Muffins? Apple cinnamon
    Wish list item? Cure for cancer which took all of our parents
    Last thing you did? Steakum, egg, cheese on whole wheat toast
    What are you wearing?Cardinal shorts and a tank top- haven't been out of the house yet!
    Your pets? Dolly 9 year old black lab mix and Echo a 9 year old Siberian husky. He is diabetic and going blind, but a real sweetheart
    Friends? Yes, they are a blessing every day
    Your life? Maybe not everything I would have wanted but God has blessed me with everything I need.
    Your mood? Tired but happy that my son and dIl and grandbaby are on the way.
    Missing someone? my departed parents and friends
    Pet Peeve? snobbish people and people who think they are better than others.
    Drinking? not for over two years
    Your car? 2013 Ford Fusion
    Something you're not wearing? Most all the rings I have from the past, all too big.
    Your favorite store? Jos. A Banks
    Your favorite color? Blue
    When is the last time you cried? A couple of weeks ago when I felt all alone and forgot that my Lord is always with me!
    Where do you go over and over? Lately, work is the only place I go.
    Favorite place to eat? Pasta House or home
    Favorite place I'd like to be right now? Other than here? Would love to live either in Colorado or Hawaii. We went to Hawaii 7 years ago and it was beautiful and we had a wonderful time!
    2157 days ago
  • PICKIE98
    My I.Q is only 132..Not even close to Mensa material.. Brains don't make nice..
    2157 days ago
  • JJMPLSMN
    Re Mensa: I told my BF about my daughter's BF, and that he didn't have my "processing speed". That's about as nice as I could be. :)...I just wrote that Groucho Marx quote to you...hilarious.

    I love this, and hope everyone will do it. It's just a peek into our lives, and you can say as much or as little as you like.

    I'm glad you got the best of both of your parents. I got the best of my Dad, and my Mother would say I got very little of her. She is obsessive, compulsively neat, and I couldn't care less about that. She wants that to matter more than anything, and it is about at best, #20 on my list of importance.

    You are AWESOME.

    Spark on.
    2157 days ago

    Comment edited on: 9/5/2015 2:39:48 PM
  • MARINGAL
    A MENSA member????? I am very impressed! ;o)
    2157 days ago
  • no profile photo CD12068097
    Expanding my knowledge of you, and that's a good thing. ( I know , I know that is a really BAD attempt at humor) Love, Pat
    2157 days ago
  • Add Your Comment to the Blog Post

    Log in to post a comment


    Disclaimer: Weight loss results will vary from person to person. No individual result should be seen as a typical result of following the SparkPeople program.